It is one of the most beautiful ensembles of Baroque style in Lithuania. In the 17th century Kristupas Žygimantas Pacas (1621–1684), Chancellor of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania, built the shrine for Camaldolese monks on the edge of Kaunas, in the remote forest at that time. The ensemble was designed by an Italian architect Giovanni Battista Frediani and decorated with moldings of Lombardy’s craftsmen and frescoes of a Florentine painter Mikelios Arkangelo Palonio. The peculiarity of the ensemble is determined by a unique architectural decision. About 140 frescoes of various sizes survived in the buildings of the monastery ensemble. You can see a famous painting “the Mother of Fair Love” in the monastery, which was presented to Kristupas Zigmantas Pacas, the founder of Pažaislis Church, by Pope Alexander VII in 1661. On 15 June 1992 Pažaislis monastery was returned to the Congregation of the Sisters of St. Casimir. Thanks to the sisters Pažaislis is becoming not only home of the congregation but also a spiritual centre. Pažaislis opens its gates for new public cultural traditions: the guests are introduced to artistic values of the monastery, meetings of culture actors with the society and poetry events are organized. Every summer, since 1996 more and more popular international Pažaislis Music Festival has taken place. In 2011 Sacral Museum of Ensemble of Pažaislis Monastery was opened in the southern part of the monastery. Educational programs take place in this museum. There is a unique Hospitality complex “Monte Pacis” next to the museum of Pažaislis Monastery where visiting guests may enjoy the dishes which reflect the latest trends of the gastronomy world, and which are inspired by the unique place and invaluable community with Sisters of St. Casimir.